First year Wedding Anniversary

Today is the first year anniversary of our wedding. 17 March 2012, we walked down the isle of Grand Shanghai, waving to the crowd while they are cheering us on…the memory is still fresh in my mind.
Tomorrow is the 7th year anniversary of us being together. 18 March 2006, after dinner while walking home, I asked if she would mind allowing me to be the first man to hold her hand as a boyfriend…she said yes and the rest is history.

Memories are past events but they are happy events. The aim is not to hold on to past memories and pretend everything is going to happen just like last time. We will grow old, we will have new directions and new encounters in life, all these are part and parcel of life but the only thing that shall and MUST remain constant, is US holding each other’s hands, cheering each other on, creating new happy memories together.

I am not a good husband, I lied to my wife, I lost control of my emotions and shouted in front of her. I attempted to boast of my almost negligible contribution towards doing housework…

In this anniversary special, I shall attempt to re-visit the happy memories of the past 1 year, hoping to add on more new memories.

First up is Our Spain-Portugal-London honeymoon! Darling and I had many firsts during this honeymoon…First LIVE soccer match, First Bull Fight, First Europe trip.

Nou Camp

Nou Camp


Spain

Spain


Madrid strawberry Bear

Madrid strawberry Bear


Having tea

Having tea


Segovia castle

Segovia castle


Sagrada Familia

Sagrada Familia


Toro Toro!

Toro Toro!


Portugal Belem Tower

Portugal Belem Tower


Big Ben

Big Ben


London Tower Bridge

London Tower Bridge

We followed soon with our Part 2 Europe honeymoon at Italy. Shopping paradise for darling. And we conquered 1 Wonder of the World…

Colosseum

Colosseum


Mouth of Truth

Mouth of Truth


Florence Duomo

Florence Duomo


Leaning Tower of Pisa

Leaning Tower of Pisa


Milan Duomo

Milan Duomo


Gondola in Venice

Gondola in Venice

We celebrated my birthday at the beautiful St Regis, thanks to darling’s recommendation.

St Regis birthday dinner

St Regis birthday dinner

We watched only 1 musical last year at MBS as there isn’t any nice ones after Oz and the Lion King.

A Chorus Line

A Chorus Line

After which came our Part 3 Europe Honeymoon in France. We got to see iconic structures such as the Eiffel Tower and Lourve and iconic Mona Lisa.

Half Timbered Houses

Half Timbered Houses


Le Mont Saint Michel

Le Mont Saint Michel


Icon of Love

Icon of Love

We saw the MBS Harry Potter exhibition.

Harry Potter

Harry Potter

We celebrated Darling’s birthday at the Lighthouse @ Fullerton.

Post dinner Merlion shot

Post dinner Merlion shot

We visited the Gardens by the Bay this year, really quite a world class garden, well planned and beautiful.

Cloud Garden

Cloud Garden


Gardens by the Bay

Gardens by the Bay

Last but not least, we had a wonderful Italian Dinner at Buona Terra on Valentine’s Day.

Valentine Dinner @ Buona Tera

Valentine Dinner @ Buona Tera

The year has been fruitful in terms of travel experiences and lots of firsts with darling. I hope to create more of such good memories with darling.

A year on, after a few bad quarrels, I have seen darling getting more and more impatient with me. Even though we are quarreling less, the main root of every quarrel remains constant…ME…
I need to change, I promised I will change but have not been able to do so.
I vowed to
i. change my bad habits of trying to prove myself (due to low self esteem and low confidence)
ii. not to raise my voice at darling again
iii. tell my feelings to darling more
iv. answer darling’s questions straight to the point
v. Any other things which can improve our relationship

Darling has not been happy today because of me.
I do not wish to be the root of darling’s unhappiness…
Worse of all, I do not wish to be chased away by darling…

Today is our anniversary darling, even though it may not be a happy one, I hope that we can re-live the memories 1 more time.
I love you.

You are my first love, and my only darling.

I love you.

http://vimeo.com/avpsg/weixian-zhiwei

Leave a comment